Chinese Chicken with Pineapple

This is a recipe I love to prepare. As this is a standard in our house I never thought to take a picture or to write it down.

This is a recipe I love to prepare. As this is a standard in our house I never thought to take a picture or to write it down.

It’s a classical dish from Southern regions which is very popular as the sweet sour taste of the sauce and fruits fits perfectly with chicken meat.

Serve this simply with plain rice.

You need:

  • 200 g chicken breast, thinly sliced
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Pepper to taste
  • 1 3/4 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup pineapple juice (from can or other mixed juices works well as well)
  • 1/2 tablespoon sugar, or to taste
  • 1 tablespoon light soya sauce
  • 1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons vegetal oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon Sichuan pepper
  • 1 cm ginger, peeled and chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled minced
  • 4 slices pineapple (fresh or canned), diced

Procedure:

  1. First of all make all your ingredients ready and prepare the rice.
  2. In a bowl toss chicken with salt and pepper. Add cornstarch and toss well again.
  3. Remove chicken and mix excessing flour with broth juice, sugar, soya sauce and vinegar.
  4. Heat oil in a wide skillet
  5. Add Sichuan pepper and fry until it smells.
  6. Quickly add ginger and garlic and fry for 30 seconds.
  7. Add chicken mixture and fry stirring from time to time for a few minutes until light brown. Remove from skillet and keep warm.
  8. Heat pineapple in the skillet stirring form time to time for 2 minutes.
  9. Add prepared sauce and cook stirring until hot.
  10. Add fried chicken and cook for a minute
  11. Serve hot with steamed rice
9 thoughts on “Chinese Chicken with Pineapple”

  1. Oh myyy goodnesssss. I either doubled or tripled this…not really sure. I used 2 large boneless breasts, a whole can of pineapple & cornstarch sufficient to coat the chicken. I got 1c of pineapple juice so I used 1c chicken broth. I just upped everything proportionally. I don’t have Szechuan peppercorns so I looked it up & the best idea for a substitute I found is lemon pepper so I used that. VERY tasty dish. VERY happy family!! I had to fry the chicken in batches & added oil as needed. The chicken was so crispy & delicious!! And it stayed that way after I added it back to the sauce! Thank you for such a wonderful recipe. All that & there are NO leftovers! Wow. Made for Culinary Quest/CCQ.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Beth! Thanks a lot, I think the easiest way is in Yuku. I never tried to post a photo in a comment in WordPress. Perhaps a possibility is to post the link in the comment and I will paste the URL-link into the recipe telling YOU took the photo!
        This would be great as I still don’t have a photo. Thanks a lot!

        Like

Leave a Reply

