Egyptian Sahlab or Sahlep

Egyptian Sahlab or Sahlep

This is a delicious hot beverage with exotic touch.
I confess diluted the milk with water (1+1) and added little more cornstarch as I wanted it lighter.
After the ingredients were dissolved and the beverage had thickened I wished until I got little fooam.
For the pistachios: I peeled the pistacios and to remove the thin skin I rolled them with my hand on a working surface, most of the skin peeled off! This makes the chopped pischios nicer, greener and more enjoyable.

Ingredients:

  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch (2-3 teaspoons)
  • 4 cups milk  ( for me: 2 cups milk + 2 cups water)
  • 3 teaspoons sugar, to taste
  • 2 tablespoons rose water, or 2 tablespoons orange blossom water (I used rose water)
  • 2 teaspoons pistachios, finely chopped
  • 4 dashes cinnamon

Source: http://www.food.com/recipe/egyptian-sahlab-or-sahlep-478633 by Mia in Germany

3 thoughts on “Egyptian Sahlab or Sahlep”

  1. Love following your entries, Adriana. Can’t always make the recipes due to some ingredient issues, but even then I feel like I’m learning & expanding my cooking knowledge. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

