Thunder Bay Oven Fried Chicken

Thunder-Bay-Oven-Fried-Chicken

I knew that Kato’s recipe would be delicious, but I really did not expect such an amazing, tasty and comforting chicken bake! As I decided to prepare this today I realized that I did not have dried bread. I made I change taking slices from the freezer, defrosting them with the microwave and dicing it. After this I place the cubes in the microwave and I partially dried it. For the sauce I fried the onion, added the cubed (still not completely dry) bread, I added 5 fresh extra sage leaves (sliced) and I roasted/dried the bread; after baking I topped the chicken with parsley. After this I could continue as explained. As chicken broth I used the fond of my chicken from the weekend. I scaled down the recipe to 1/3 and this was really filling for us four in combination with yellow risotto and salad.

Ingredients

    • 4 lbs chicken pieces or 4 lbs chicken breasts
    • 6 cups dry bread cubes ( diced bread)
    • 1/2 cup flour
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt
    • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
    • 1 1/4 teaspoons sage
    • 2 tablespoons oil, vegetable
    • 4 tablespoons onions, chopped
    • 1/2 cup margarine, melted
    • 1 (10 ounce) cans cream of chicken soup
    • 2 tablespoons flour
    • 1 1/4 cups water, cold

Source and recipe description: http://www.food.com/recipe/thunder-bay-oven-fried-chicken-96051 by Baby Kato

Leave a Reply

